Landlord Tenant – Lease Termination – Tennessee
The statute below provides the procedure to terminate a lease for a material non-compliance with the lease agreement. You must provide 30 days notice to cure prior to termination.
66-28-505. Noncompliance by tenant – Failure to pay rent.
(a) Except as provided in this chapter, if there is a material noncompliance by the tenant with the rental agreement or a noncompliance with § 66-28-401 materially affecting health and safety, the landlord may deliver a written notice to the tenant specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach, and that the rental agreement will terminate upon a date not less than thirty (30) days after receipt of the notice. If the breach is not remedied in fourteen (14) days, the rental agreement shall terminate as provided in the notice, subject to the following. If the breach is remediable by repairs or the payment of damages or otherwise and the tenant adequately remedies the breach prior to the date specified in the notice, the rental agreement will not terminate. If substantially the same act or omission which constituted a prior noncompliance of which notice was given recurs within six (6) months, the landlord may terminate the rental agreement upon at least fourteen (14) days’ written notice specifying the breach and the date of termination of the rental agreement.
(b) If rent is unpaid when due and the tenant fails to pay, written notice by the landlord of nonpayment is required unless otherwise specifically waived in a written rental agreement. The rental agreement is enforceable for collection of rent for the remaining term of the rental agreement.
(c) Except as provided in this chapter, the landlord may recover damages and obtain injunctive relief for any noncompliance by the tenant with the rental agreement or § 66-28-401. The landlord may recover reasonable attorney’s fees for breach of contract and nonpayment of rent as provided in the rental agreement.
(d) The landlord may recover punitive damages for willful destruction of property.
Related Tennessee Legal Forms
- 14 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Lease Terminates for Nonresidential or Commercial Property
- 14 Day Notice to Terminate Lease for Damage to Lease Premises – Nonresidential
- 30 day Notice to Terminate for Material Noncompliance with Lease – 14 Days to Cure for Residential from Landlord to Tenant
- Notice to Terminate for Nonpayment of Rent – Residential